Noxious Weed Advisory Committee

Committee Vacancy

The Colorado Noxious Weed Advisory Committee is seeking nominations to fill six vacant positions representing the interests of:

  • agricultural producers (3)
  • a private landowner (1)
  • a county weed manager (1)
  • and an at-large member (1)

Nominations must be submitted through an online application form no later than Wednesday, January 25, 2023.

Deadline extended! Submit your application by Wednesday, February 1, 2023. 

  Noxious Weed Advisory Committee Application

Sunset Review

The Colorado Office of Policy, Research and Regulatory Reform is currently conducting a sunset review of the State Noxious Weed Advisory Committee as described in section 2-3-1203 of the Colorado Revised Statutes. Analysis is performed to determine if the advisory committee is necessary and should be continued or repealed. To provide input on this review, please visit:


The Colorado Noxious Weed Advisory Committee was established in 2003 and consists of 17 members, with 15 of the members appointed by the Commissioner of Agriculture. Of the 15 appointed members, at least:

  • one member represents private and public landowners or land managers;
  • two members represent weed management professionals from the federal, state, or local levels;
  • one member represents public or private weed scientists;
  • two members represent local governing bodies (counties and municipalities);
  • four members are agricultural producers; and
  • three members represent knowledgeable resource specialists or industries, including, but not limited to, environmental organizations.

Two non-voting members are appointed by their state agency and approved by the Commissioner:

  • one member of the Colorado Department of Transportation, and 
  • one member of the Department of Natural Resources.

The department makes every effort to balance not only the interests of the committee but also to ensure that representation reflects the different geographic areas of the state equally, to the greatest extent possible.

The state advisory committee provides a critical link between the citizens of Colorado and the Colorado Department of Agriculture. The committee members' primary responsibility is to solicit input from similar stakeholders within each member's area of expertise and/or region of the state as well as to communicate the committee's recommendations to the department to the region and stakeholders represented by each member.

Terms are limited to two years each and appointees are limited to two full terms each. These members meet quarterly in locations across the state to make recommendations to the department concerning the:

  • designation of state noxious weeds;
  • classification of state noxious weeds;
  • development and implementation of state weed management plans; and
  • prescribed techniques for eradication, containment, and suppression of state noxious weeds.

In addition, the state advisory committee will:

  • measure the results and effectiveness of endeavors to eradicate, contain, and suppress noxious weeds;
  • recommend to the Commissioner ways to enhance statewide efforts to stop the spread of noxious weeds.

All interested Coloradans are encouraged to identify one or more members of the state advisory committee that may be best able to represent their interests and perspectives in noxious weed management. Contact them and share your opinions. Ask to be kept informed of their discussions and recommendations.

Thank you to all of the Board members who have served Colorado in this important role. Your participation is greatly appreciated. Terms begin and end on the calendar year, and we welcome new Board members each January!

Advisory Committee Members

No. Perspective Name Region Phone
1 Private Landowner Dennis Smialek Bennett 970-396-2561
2 Federal Weed Manager Dan Tekiela Lakewood 720-357-3211
3 County Weed Manager Drew Marino Creede 406-531-1092
4 Public Weed Scientist Chrissy Alba Denver 720-865-3561
5 County Official Liz Smith Gunnison 970-975-0708
6 Municipal Official Jim Krick Longmont 303-651-8451
7 Ag Producer Tim Brown Limon 719-740-1760
8 Ag Producer Thomas McCracken Crestone 303-550-3595
9 Ag Producer Matthew Wacker Springfield 719-523-3736
10 Ag Producer Ron Arpin Brighton 303-655-4282
11 Green Industry Travis Harris Wiggins 303-720-8245
12 Conservation Organization Jim Alexander Denver 720-238-5444
13 Resource Specialist Bill Pawleshyn Fort Collins 970-498-5753
14 At-large Johnnie Hamilton   Model 719-846-3559
15 At-large Luke Wheeler Lafayette 406-839-4359
16 CDOT (non-voting) Ken Howlett Denver 303-515-0758
17 DNR (non-voting) Wilbur Strickert Sterling 970-522-0975