Farm Products Dealer Program

The Farm Products Dealer Program is designed to protect sellers of Colorado farm products from fraudulent dealers and handlers.

A farm product is an unprocessed product of the soil, livestock, milk, honey, and hay. It does not include poultry, nursery stock, timber products, livestock not sold within 90 days or commodities (grain and dry edible beans). Commodities are covered under the Commodities Act.

Leif Jacobsen
Program Administrator

Forms and Downloads

Anyone purchasing farm products for the purpose of processing or resale is required to be licensed in Colorado. Determine your category for licensing:

Dealer Categories

There are three types of dealer licenses authorized under this Act. Please review the Farm Product and Commodity Handler license flow chart if you are unsure which type of license you need.

1. Small Volume Dealer: no purchases over $20,000.00 annually, and no single purchase over $2,500.00

  • Completely fill out the Small Volume Dealer License Application to license in Colorado.
  • The license fee is $25.00 annually with a license period of January 1 through December 31 of each year.
  • Return the application and fee to our office.

2. Farm Products Dealer with Cash Buyer Declaration: all purchases are to be paid in cash, cashiers check or money order, at time of purchase. No personal or company checks may be used

  • Completely fill out the Dealer Application with Cash Buyer Affidavit and return the application and fee to our office.
  • The license fee is $25.00 annually with a license period is January 1 through December 31 of each year.

3. Farm Products Dealer: with a bond to cover 2% of annual purchases

  • A dealer must first obtain a bond. See the bonding schedule and rules to help decide whether you should use a Surety Bond through your insurance or a Letter of Credit through your bank.
  • Completely fill out the Dealer License Application
  • The license fee is $275.00 annually with a license period of January 1 through December 31 of each year.
  • Return the original bond, application, and fee to our office.

Agent License: Any person who works on behalf of a Farm Products Dealer or Handler is required to apply for an Agent License.