Colorado Invests $1.9M Into Drought Preparedness and Mitigation Across the State

To help Colorado’s agricultural industry mitigate the effects of the ongoing mega drought and improve the efficiency of agricultural water distribution systems, the Colorado Department of Agriculture awarded 21 competitive grants totaling more than $1.68 million to agricultural businesses, tribal organizations, water management entities, and watershed improvement projects across the state. 

Conservation Excellence Award Winners Recognized for Work on East Troublesome Fire Recovery and Soil Health Initiatives

Commissioner of Agriculture Kate Greenberg is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2021 Award for Conservation Excellence, which recognizes individuals in Conservation Districts who have demonstrated excellence and leadership for Colorado’s conservation community. This year’s honorees are Katlin Miller from the Middle Park Conservation District and Patrick O’Neill from the Mosca-Hooper Conservation District.

CDA Secures Additional $3.4 Million in Grants To Help Producers, Conservation Districts Employ Climate-Smart Soil Health Practices

To advance voluntary stewardship of working lands through the adoption of soil health practices, the Colorado Department of Agriculture is pleased to announce it has secured more than $3.4M in additional grant funding to support the voluntary Saving Tomorrow’s Agricultural Resources (STAR) program. 

Governor Polis Signs Noxious Colorado Weed Awareness Week Proclamation

Governor Polis has designated May 15-22, 2021 as Noxious Weed Awareness Week in Colorado, stating that noxious weeds are a threat to the state’s agricultural crops and infrastructure, as well as to wildlife habitat.  As the 2021 growing season gets underway, the Colorado Department of Agriculture (CDA) is proud to acknowledge the accomplishments of the state’s cooperative network of noxious weed management agencies and their vital work in helping to protect Colorado’s ecological future.

Conservation Districts Consolidate

San Miguel Basin Conservation District and Shavano Conservation District will join forces to meet the natural resources conservation needs of landowners within their boundaries in the Delta, Gunnison, Montrose, Ouray, and San Miguel Counties.

In a special election held  May 4, 2021, landowners from the two districts voted to consolidate the districts, forming a new district, which will be known as the “Shavano Conservation District.” 

Ag Department’s Soil Health Initiative Progresses with New Federal Partnership

October 27, 2020
Contact: Mary Peck, 720-428-0441,

Broomfield, Colo. - The Colorado Department of Agriculture’s (CDA) Conservation Services Division is pleased to announce the signing of a five-year, $5 million agreement between the USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (NRCS) and the Colorado State Conservation Board (CSCB), housed within CDA.