Find updates about the HWY 50 Bridge Closure on the Gunnison County website


USDA declares 11 Colorado counties as primary natural disaster areas due to drought

Hide Featured Image

View of center pivot fields from above in the San Luis ValleyOn Monday, March 25, 2024, the USDA designated 11 Colorado counties as primary natural disaster areas due to a recent drought. Additional areas of Colorado and adjacent states are named as contiguous disaster counties.

A Secretarial disaster designation makes farm operators in primary counties and those counties contiguous to such primary counties eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loan assistance, provided eligibility requirements are met. Farmers in eligible counties have 8 months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency

Read more about the assistance available on the USDA page and the Disaster Assistance Programs brochure

Disaster designation areas for Colorado and contiguous states

Primary Colorado Counties (11)

  • Alamosa 
  • Archuleta 
  • Conejos 
  • Costilla 
  • Hinsdale 
  • Huerfano 
  • La Plata 
  • Mineral 
  • Montezuma
  • Rio Grande
  • Saguache

Contiguous Colorado Counties (9)

  • Chaffee 
  • Custer 
  • Dolores  
  • Fremont 
  • Gunnison 
  • Las Animas
  • Ouray
  • Pueblo
  • San Juan

Contiguous Counties in Adjacent States

  • Arizona (1): Apache
  • New Mexico (4): Colfax, Rio Arriba, San Juan, Taos
  • Utah (1): San Juan