This program regulates compost that is distributed in Colorado. While the compost product does not have to be registered with the Department, any product labeled as compost must meet minimum standards.
Compost Manufacturing Facilities that are producing compost that is distributed without commercial fertilizer, plant amendment, or soil conditioner claims are required to be registered in Colorado.
These facilities are exempt from registration if they are producers of less than ten (10) tons of compost per calendar year or are regulated under section 14 of part 1 of the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment regulations pertaining to Solid Waste Sites and Facilities, 6 CCR 1007-2.
Compost is sampled by our inspectors and tested by our Biochemistry Laboratory to verify listed ingredients.
Forms & Downloads
Complete the following steps for Compost Manufacturing Facility registration in Colorado:
- All new applicants can contact our office for information on how to register a new facility.
- The Compost Facility Registration Application and payment should be submitted to 305 Interlocken Parkway Broomfield, CO 80021
- The annual registration period is February 1 - January 31, and registrations must be renewed each year.
- To renew a facility registration please logon to the AgLicense website. Contact our office to obtain your logon credentials or for guidance.
The Compost Manufacturing Facility registration fee is $25.00. A late penalty fee of $25.00 will be assessed on all renewals postmarked after the due date of January 31st.
Laws and Regulations
Colorado Revised Statutes
Colorado Revised Statutes are made available for public use by the Committee on Legal Services of the Colorado General Assembly through a contractual arrangement with the LexisNexis Group. Any person wishing to reprint and distribute all or a substantial part of the statutes in either printed or electronic format must obtain prior permission of the Committee on Legal Services; permission is not required to reprint fewer than 200 sections of C.R.S. (please see §2-5-118, C.R.S.).
The Lexis Nexis website is the only official source of the Colorado Revised Statutes.
- Title 35, Article 12: Commercial Fertilizers and Soil Conditioners Law, Sections 35-12-101 to 35-12-120
- Code of Colorado Regulations: Compost 8 CCR 1202-4