Soil Health Advisory Committee


The Soil Health Advisory Committee (SHAC) is appointed by the Commissioner to oversee the state soil health program. This committee is a critical part of Colorado’s efforts to help landowners build better soil and become more drought resilient. SHAC helps ensure that the Colorado Department of Agriculture is well-informed about the concerns and perspectives of a wide array of agricultural interests pertaining to the implementation of a soil health program.

Current Soil Health Advisory Committee members

Margaret Lenz (Chair)
Donny McBee
Scott Jones
Nick Charchalis
Rob Jones
Brad Buchanan
Tony Hass
Shawn Bruckman
Patrick O'Neill
Riley May
Troy Schneider

Jim Ippolito (ex officio)
Nora Flynn (ex officio)
BJ Shoup (ex officio)