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NOTICE OF PUBLIC RULEMAKING HEARING 

 
 

FOR AMENDMENTS TO 
 

Rules Pertaining to “Administration and Enforcement of the  
Colorado Seed Act” 

8 CCR 1203-6, Parts 2 and 20.9 
 
Notice is hereby given pursuant to § 24-4-103 C.R.S. that the Department of Agriculture will hold a public 
rulemaking hearing: 
 

DATE:  August 17, 2020 
TIME:  10:00 am  
LOCATION: This hearing will be held by telephone. 
CALL INFORMATION: 1-617-675-4444 PIN: 267 738 524 1274# 
 

In order to maintain a proper hearing record you are encouraged to pre-register 
by completing this Google form. If you do not have access to Google you may 
send your name and telephone number to Jenifer.Gurr@state.co.us 
Pre-registration is not required to participate in the hearing.  

The purpose of this rulemaking is to align the rules with fees now set in statute. 
 
The statutory authority for these rules is § 35-27-114(1)(b) C.R.S.   
 
Any interested party may file written comment with the Commissioner’s office prior to the hearing, or 
present at the aforementioned hearing written data, views or arguments.  Emailed comments should be 
sent to the hearing officer at Jenifer.Gurr@state.co.us.  A copy of the proposed rule is available on the 
Department of Agriculture’s website at www.colorado.gov/ag or may be obtained by calling 303-869-
9004.  The proposed rule shall be available for public inspection at the Colorado Department of 
Agriculture at 305 Interlocken Parkway, Broomfield, Colorado during regular business hours. 
 

https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSffaBBKGFrEpMXI_fc7_89ybSO-AXLaLgagBP3i6kurQvdv3g/viewform?usp=sf_link
mailto:Jenifer.Gurr@state.co.us
mailto:Jenifer.Gurr@state.co.us
http://www.colorado.gov/ag
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DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE 

Plant Industry Division 

ADMINISTRATION AND ENFORCEMENT OF THE COLORADO SEED ACT 

8 CCR 1203-6 

Part 1. DEFINITION AND CONSTRUCTION OF TERMS. 

Part 2. THE REGISTRATION SYSTEM. 

2.1. Each applicant for a registration shall submit a signed, complete, accurate, and legible 
application, on a form provided by the Commissioner, which shall include, at a minimum: the 
name and address of the business, the name under which the business will operate (the doing 
business as name), the name of the person who is the primary contact, the address and 
telephone number of the location where the records are to be kept, and any other information 
required on the form. 

2.2. In addition to the form approved by the Commissioner, each applicant for a registration or 
applicant for renewal of a registration, shall submit the registration fee set by the Commissioner. If 
the registration fee does not accompany the application, the application for registration or renewal 
of a registration may be denied. 

2.3 Repealed. 

2.4. Each applicant shall submit to the Commissioner the name under which the business will operate. 
If the registrant operates under more than one name, each such name shall be listed with the 
Commissioner. 

2.5. The annual registration fee for seed labelers shall be $519.00300.00. 

2.6. The annual registration fee for custom seed conditioners shall be $519.00300.00. 

2.7. The annual registration fee for farmer seed labelers shall be $130.0075.00. 

2.8. The annual registration fee for retail seed dealers shall be $130.0075.00. 

2.9. The annual registration fee for a second business location for seed labelers and custom seed 
conditioners shall be $75.00. 

2.9.1. Tthe annual registration fee for a second business location for farmer seed labelers and 
retail dealers shall be $43.0025.00. 

2.9.2. The annual registration fee for a second business location for retail seed dealers shall be 
$43.00. 

2.10. Each applicant for renewal of a registration shall annually submit a signed, complete, accurate, 
and legible application on a form provided by the Commissioner, which shall include, at a 
minimum: the name and address of the business, the name of the person who is the primary 
contact, the address and telephone number of the location where the records are to be kept, and 
any other information required on the form. 
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2.11. A registrant who conducts business at two or more business locations shall obtain a registration 
for each location at which it employs one or more permanent employees engaged in the business 
for which the registrant is registered. For purposes of this paragraph, “business locations” means 
any physical location at or through which the functional operations of business regularly occur, 
including, but not limited to, financial transactions, arrangement of contracts, or assignment of 
work, and excluding buildings or locations used solely for storage of equipment or supplies or 
telephone answering services. 

Part 3. LABEL REQUIREMENTS FOR AGRICULTURAL, VEGETABLE, AND FLOWER SEEDS. 

Part 4. LABELING KIND AND VARIETY OR TYPE AND PERFORMANCE CHARACTERISTICS OF 
FLOWER SEED. 

Part 5. KINDS OF FLOWER SEEDS SUBJECT TO GERMINATION LABELING REQUIREMENTS 
AND GERMINATION STANDARDS FOR FLOWER SEEDS. 

Part 6. LABEL REQUIREMENTS FOR TREE AND SHRUB SEEDS. 

Part 8. GERMINATION STANDARDS. 

Part 9. STACKING AND LABELING OF SEED LOTS BY DEALERS. 

Part 10. THE SAMPLING OF SEED LOTS. 

Part 11. ANALYSIS AND TESTING OF SEEDS. 

Part 12. TOLERANCES. 

Part 13. SALES OF DISEASE FREE SEED BEANS. 

Part 14. INCORPORATION BY REFERENCE. 

Part 15. RECORDS REQUIRED TO BE KEPT. 

Part 16. PESTICIDE TREATED ALFALFA SEED AND CLOVER SEED. 

Part 17. RESERVED 

Part 18. RESERVED 

Part 19. RESERVED 

Part 20. STATEMENTS OF BASIS AND PURPOSE. 

20.9 Adopted September 9, 2020 – Effective October 30, 2020 

Statutory authority 

The amendments to these rules are proposed for adoption by the Commissioner of the Colorado 
Department of Agriculture (“CDA”) pursuant to the authority under the Clorado Seed Act (the “Act”), § 35-
27-114(1)(b), C.R.S. 

Purpose 
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The purpose of the proposed rule amendments is to: 

1. Align the rules with fees now set in statue, which fees became effective June 25, 2020.  

2. Part 2.5. of these Rules has been revised to reflect the statutory annual registration fee for seed 
labelers is $519.00 per year. 

3. Part 2.6. of these Rules has been revised to reflect the statutory annual registration fee for 
custom seed conditioners is $519.00 per year. 

4. Part 2.7. of these Rules has been revised to reflect the statutory annual registration fee for farmer 
seed labelers is $130.00 per year. 

5. Part 2.8. of these rules has been revised to reflect the statutory annual registration fee for retail 
seed dealers is $130.00 per year. 

7. Part 2.9.1. of these Rules has been revised to reflect an increase in the annual registration fee for 
a second business location for farmer seed labelers from  $25.00 per year to $43.00 per year, as 
well as to correct non-substantive typographical errors. 

8. Part 2.9.2 of these Rules has been added to reflect an increase in the annual registration fee for a 
second business location for a retail seed dealer from $25.00 per year to $43.00 per year. 

Factual and Policy Basis Issues 

The factual and policy issues encountered when developing these rule amendments include: 

1. Section 35-27-125, et seq., C.R.S., was set for repeal on July 1, 2020. Prior to repeal, the Act 
was scheduled to undergo a sunset review through the Department of Regulatory Agencies 
(“DORA”), consistent with section 24-34-104, C.R.S.  Subsequent to the sunset review, DORA 
recommended continuation of the Act. The General Assembly reviewed DORA’s 
recommendations and passed House Bill 20-1184. House Bill 20-1184 continued the Act, and 
codified into the statute minimum yearly registration fees for each registration category and for 
certain categories of second business locations.  

2.  Because the fee provisions in the Act became effective June 25, 2020, the fees described in the 
Rules were no longer accurate. As such, the Department is revising the Rules to harmonize the 
Rules to the Act. This will avoid stakeholder confusion with respect to operative fees moving 
forward. 
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