
 
 

 
Dear New Brand Applicant: 
 
 
Enclosed is an application to apply for a new brand in the state of Colorado. We ask that you draw 
several brands that you would like to record and list them in order of preference. Please indicate the 
county in Colorado where your livestock will range. Please specify whether the brand is for cattle and 
horses or sheep and goats. 
 
Please be advised that most brands contain two letters or numbers along with a character such as a bar, 
slash or quarter circle.  As there are over 34,000 brands currently on record, it is very difficult to approve 
a two character brand. We discourage connecting characters in a new brand or using miscellaneous 
objects in a new brand. 
 
All new brand requests are compared with brands currently on record for conflicts before a new brand is 
approved by the Brand Commissioner or an appointed designee. If the specific choice(s) cannot be 
issued due to conflicts and you would like a similar brand mailed for your approval, please state that 
request on the application. If you have only one brand choice and that brand cannot be issued, this 
office will mail a letter explaining the conflicts that are on record. You have 30 days to submit another 
application if you wish. 
 
A brand is considered personal property in Colorado and is transferable in ownership according to the 
laws of the state. In Colorado, a brand is approved for cattle and horses or sheep and goats and 
approved for use on either side (left or right) any location (shoulder, rib or hip) on the animal. 
 
The application fee for a new brand is $200.00, which is non-refundable and must accompany the new 
brand application.  If a new brand is selected for your approval and you wish to record the new brand, 
the $200.00 application fee will become the recording fee. The 2020  assessment fee will then be due in 
the amount of $120.00. This will pay your new brand through December 31, 2021. Please do not send 
the assessment fee with the new brand application. 
 
Please mail the new brand application to this office along with the application fee of $200.00. Please 
allow up to six weeks research time for your requests. Thank you and if you have questions, please 
contact this office. Please make the check or money order payable to the Colorado Brand Board.  
 
Sincerely, 
 
Bird Lover 
 
Karen Bird Lover 
Brand Recorder 
303.869.9167 
 

Commissioners:    Kory Kessinger from Akron, Daniel McCarty from Parachute, David Mendenhall 

from Rocky Ford,  Marla Rock from Wray, & Kathie Troudt Riley from Loveland 

 

305 Interlocken Parkway, Broomfield, CO 80021   P 303.869.9000 

Brand Inspection Division:  P 303.869.9160   F 303.466.1429   ​www.colorado.gov/agbrands 

http://www.colorado.gov/agbrands


Receipt #:  
 Payment:  

 
 

STATE BOARD OF STOCK INSPECTION COMMISSIONERS  
BRAND INSPECTION DIVISION 
305 INTERLOCKEN PARKWAY 

BROOMFIELD CO 80021 
303-869-9160 

www.colorado.gov/agbrands 
 
 

NEW BRAND APPLICATION 
 

 
DATE:____________________________________   
 

NAME:_____________________________________________________________________________   
 

EMAIL ADDRESS:________________________________________________________________  
 

PHONE NUMBER:________________________________________________________________  
 

MAILING ADDRESS: ________________________________________________________________  
 

CITY, STATE, ZIP: ___________________________________________________________________   
 

COUNTY OF RANGE:________________________________________________________________   
 

Please mark only one – brand to be used on: cattle & horses ______  or sheep & goats _______ 
 
BRAND REQUESTS:  

 
1. 
 
 
 
2. 
 
 
 
3. 
 
 
 
 
 
Please mark this box if you wish for a similar brand to be researched for your approval. 

 

http://www.colorado.gov/agbrands
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